BSC Panel Election 2014

The BSC Panel plays an important role in helping to ensure that the provisions of the BSC are given effect; it must do so promptly, fairly, economically, efficiently, transparently and in such a manner as will promote effective competition in the generation, supply, sale and purchase of electricity.

Panel Members are appointed by election (in the case of Industry Members) or by appointment by the Panel Chairman (in the case of independent members), the Transmission Company and Citizens Advice / Citizens Advice Scotland as appropriate.

Elexon facilitates the nomination, election and appointment of Industry BSC Panel Members. The two-year term of newly elected Panel runs from 1 October 2014.

A guide to the election process and how the votes are calculated is available in the ‘Panel Elections 2014 – General Guidance’ Process Guide.

Panel Members must act impartially and not be representative of any one Party or class of Parties. With the exception of the Panel Chairman, they are appointed for a period of two years.

Further information about the role and responsibilities of the BSC Panel, and details of the current Panel members is published on the BSC Panel page.

Who can participate in BSC Panel Elections?

Each BSC Party which is a Trading Party on 20 June in the year of the election may nominate one candidate to stand for election as a BSC Panel Member.

Each voting Trading Party may submit a voting paper for each Energy account that it holds (ie a Production account and a Consumption account). However, in some cases, Trading Parties may be affiliated with one another and so be treated as a trading party group by the BSC. Only one Trading Party in a trading party group can submit voting papers in the Industry Panel Member elections.


Voting closed on 22 August. We have checked and counted the votes received according to the provisions of the Annex B-2 of the BSC. This process has been reviewed and the results verified by our internal assurance function.  The following candidates have been elected as Panel members for the period 1 October 2014 to 30 September 2016.

Candidate Nominated by Round election in
Staurt Cotten Jeremy Letts, Corby Power Limited 1st round
Barbara Vest Julian Skinner, Eggborough Power Limited 1st round
Bob Brown Karen Stockdale, Energy24 Limited Further round
Andrew Colley Garth Graham, SSE Energy Supply Ltd Further round
Peter Bolitho Jeremy Guard, First Utility Limited Further round

More information on the votes received can be found in the BSC Panel Election of Industry Members 2014 – Results.


If you have any queries about the election, please contact the Election Coordinator, Laura Delargy, on +44 (0) 20 7380 4309 or [email protected].


Click on the X next to any of the icons to replace them with a short-cut link to the page you are currently on or search for a specific page.

List of BSC Insights

Previous Circulars

Training videos and services

Market Entry

Charge Codes and Switch Regimes

Add New