BSC Panel Elections 2016

The BSC Panel plays an important role in helping to ensure that the provisions of the BSC are given effect; it must do so promptly, fairly, economically, efficiently, transparently and in such a manner as will promote effective competition in the generation, supply, sale and purchase of electricity.

Panel Members are appointed by election (in the case of Industry Members) or by appointment by the Panel Chairman (in the case of Independent Members), the Transmission Company and Citizens Advice / Citizens Advice Scotland as appropriate.

We facilitate the nomination, election and appointment of Industry BSC Panel Members. The current Industry Members’ term of office expires in September 2016. The term of newly elected Panel Members will start on 1 October 2016. The election process will run through summer 2016.

The rules governing the election process are in Section B Annex B-2 of the BSC. Here is the Panel Elections 2016 guide to the election process and how the votes are calculated.

Panel Members must act impartially and not be representative of any one Party or class of Parties. With the exception of the Panel Chairman, they are appointed for a period of two years.

Further information about the role and responsibilities of the BSC Panel, and details of the current Panel members is published on the BSC Panel page.

Who can participate in BSC Panel Elections?

Each BSC Party which is a Trading Party on 20 June in the year of the election may nominate one candidate to stand for election as a BSC Panel Member.

Each voting Trading Party may submit a voting paper for each Energy account that it holds (i.e. a Production account and a Consumption account). In some cases, Trading Parties may be affiliated with one another, so they will be treated as a Trading Party group by the BSC. Only one Trading Party in a Trading Party group can submit voting papers in the Industry Panel Member elections.


Voting closed on 26 August 2016. We have checked and counted the votes received according to the provisions of the Annex B-2 of the BSC. This process has been reviewed and the results verified by our internal assurance function.

The following candidates have been elected as Panel members for the period 1 October 2016 to 30 September 2018.

Name: Nominated by: Round Elected in:
Stuart Cotten Mary Teuton, VPI Immingham LLP First voting round
Barbara Vest Julian Skinner, Eggborough Power Ltd First voting round
Thomas Edwards Edward Coleman, Statkraft Markets GmbH Third voting round
Mitch Donnelly Kevin Woollard, British Gas Trading Ltd Further round
Andy Knowles Bill Bullen, Utilita Energy Ltd Further round

Further information on the votes received is available in our BSC Panel election of Industry Members 2016 – results document.


If you have any queries about the election, please contact the Election Coordinator, Nicola Dempsey, on +44 (0) 20 7380 4217 or


Click on the X next to any of the icons to replace them with a short-cut link to the page you are currently on or search for a specific page.

ELEXON insights

ELEXON Circulars

Training services delivered by ELEXON

Market Entry

Charge Codes and Switch Regimes

Add New