BSC Panel membership

The BSC Panel plays an important role in helping to ensure that the provisions of the BSC are given effect; it must do so promptly, fairly, economically, efficiently, transparently and in such a manner as will promote effective competition in the generation, supply, sale and purchase of electricity.

View Michael Gibbons CBE FEI

Michael Gibbons CBE FEIRead More

Elexon Board Chairperson and BSC Panel Chairperson
[email protected]

I was appointed as the Chair of the Elexon Board and Balancing and Settlement Code (BSC) Panel in October 2013 and reappointed for three more years in November 2016 and again in 2019. I am also Chairperson of the Credit Committee.

Committee membership:

View Dr Phil Hare

Dr Phil HareRead More

Independent Panel Member
[email protected]

Phil has over thirty years’ experience in the energy industry and is a Senior Associate with Pöyry Management Consulting.

Committee membership:

View Derek Bunn

Derek BunnRead More

Independent Panel Member
[email protected]

Derek W. Bunn is Professor of Decision Sciences at London Business School. Author of over 200 research papers and books in the areas of forecasting, econometrics, decision analysis and energy economics, he has been Editor of the Journal of Forecasting since 1984, a previous Editor of Energy Economics, and Founding Editor of the Journal of Energy Markets.

Committee membership:

View Diane Dowdell

Diane DowdellRead More

Between 1994 and 2002 Diane worked at Eastern Natural Gas (later TXU) where she helped develop Eastern into one of the country’s leading gas trading businesses. She innovated some of the first UK NBP gas supply agreements to power station developments and later moved into negotiating structured electricity and gas deals that culminated in the world’s first ever Virtual Tolling Agreement with Enron in 1997.

Committee membership:

View Andrew Colley

Andrew ColleyRead More

Andrew is currently a member of the BSC Panel and the Credit Committee and has previously served on the Imbalance Settlement Group Committee,  Trading Disputes Committee and Q8 Committee.

Committee membership:

View Lisa Waters

Lisa WatersRead More

Lisa Waters is a BSC Panel Member, a member of the Imbalance Settlement Group (ISG) and the Credit Committee. She also regularly attends Modification groups.

View Mark Bellman

Mark BellmanRead More

Mark is a Chartered Management Accountant with 30 years’ experience in the power utility business. He is currently Head of Energy Settlement for ScottishPower Retail.

Committee membership:

View Rhys Kealley

Rhys KealleyRead More

Rhys first started in the energy sector in Western Australia in 1999 with the Government department responsible for structural energy market reform. He supported the taskforce to disaggregate the state-owned monopoly electricity supplier, and he chaired a workgroup with independent generators to design the first electricity balancing market for the state.

Committee membership:

View Tom Edwards

Tom EdwardsRead More

Tom has been working in the electricity Industry for nine years his roles include engaging with policy and regulatory change, modelling and forecasting revenues in the Ancillary Services, Power and Capacity markets, and advising clients in the supply and generation markets on market entry and regulatory change. Tom is currently employed by Cornwall Insight a leading independent consultant and provider of market intelligence on the UK energy sector.

Committee membership:

View Ed Rees

Ed ReesRead More

Ed joined Citizens Advice in 2018. In the Energy Networks and Services team his work focuses on price controls, code governance, innovation and vulnerability. He sits on multiple code governance and advisory groups advocating for consumer protections.

Committee membership:

View Andy Manning

Andy ManningRead More

Andy joined Citizens Advice in April 2021 as Principal Economic Regulation Specialist. He leads the Energy, Networks and Systems team. The team seeks to ensure that consumers receive the services they require from the energy network companies at good value for money, and that the energy system works well for consumers. Andy sits on the Ofgem Challenge Group that assesses network companies’ business plans.

Committee membership:

View Fungai Madzivadondo

Fungai MadzivadondoRead More

Fungai joined Energy Networks Association in 2020. In her role she engages with policy and regulatory change and sits on multiple code governance groups representing electricity network operators.

Committee membership:

View Jon Wisdom

Jon WisdomRead More

Jon joined the energy industry in 2005 holding leadership roles across regulatory and commercial functions at RWE npower before joining National Grid Electricity System Operator in 2016. 

Committee membership:

View Colin Down

Colin Down

Committee membership:

View Nadir Hafeez

Nadir Hafeez

Committee membership:


Click on the X next to any of the icons to replace them with a short-cut link to the page you are currently on or search for a specific page.

List of BSC Insights

Previous Circulars

Training videos and services

Market Entry

Charge Codes and Switch Regimes

Add New