ELEXON Home Page
0870 010 6950

ELEXON welcomes Anne Heal as a new non-executive director to the ELEXON Board

Posted: 29 August 2017

ELEXON has appointed Anne Heal to the ELEXON Board. Anne, who takes up her post from 1 October 2017, replaces Gillian Wilmot and joins as the second non-executive director who is independent from industry.

The BSC requires the ELEXON Board to be comprised of mainly non-executive directors who have industry experience and at least two non-executive directors who must be independent from the industry.

All of our non-executive directors are considered to be independent under the Corporate Governance Code. The ELEXON Board will now comprise of Michael Gibbons, Chairman, Mark Bygraves, ELEXON CEO, Volker Beckers, Alison Chappell and Clare Duffy, our three industry non-executive directors and David Rigney and Anne Heal as our two non-executive directors who are independent from the industry.

ELEXON Chairman, Michael Gibbons, said: ‘I’m delighted to welcome Anne to the Board. She brings extensive experience of strategy formulation and working in regulated environments, which will be highly valuable in helping us tackle the challenges ahead.

I’d also like to thank Gillian Wilmot who has retired from the Board for her valuable contribution. She has served on the Board for four years, including as chair of the remuneration committee, and we thank Gillian for her service.’

Anne said on being appointed: ‘I am more than delighted to be joining ELEXON’s Board. ELEXON plays such an important and pivotal role in the energy industry and I look forward to playing my part in that.’

More information on ELEXON’s Board structure and its members can be found on our Who we are web page.

About Anne Heal

Anne Heal is Chair of the Thames Water Customer Challenge Group; she is a board member of ORR, the rail and road regulator, and Ofqual, the qualifications regulator.

She is also a Lay Member of the General Dental Council. She was previously Director of Regulatory Affairs for BT Group, leading the regulatory negotiations that led to the creation of Openreach, where she then became MD, Strategy.

Anne is Chair of Volunteering Matters, a trustee of NCVO, a lay advisor to the Royal College of Pathology and a trustee of Ballet Boyz. She is a Sloan Fellow of the London Business School and a Fellow of the RSA.