BSC Panel Elections


BSC Panel Members are appointed by election (in the case of Industry Members) or by appointment by the Panel Chair (in the case of Independent Members), the National Electricity Transmission System Operator (NETSO) and Citizens Advice / Citizens Advice Scotland as appropriate.

Contact information

Oli Meggitt
BSC Panel Secretary and Election Co-ordinator
[email protected]
+44 (0) 20 7380 4143

2024 Elections

Elexon facilitates the nomination, election and appointment of Industry BSC Panel Members. The current Industry Members’ term of office expires in September 2024. The term of newly elected Panel Members will start on 1 October 2024 and run until 30 September 2026.

Election process

The rules governing the election process are in Section B Annex B-2 of the BSC.

Panel Elections guide explains the election process and how the votes are calculated.

Panel Members must act impartially and not be representative of any one Party or class of Parties. With the exception of the Panel Chairman, they are appointed for a period of two years.

Who can participate?

Each BSC Party which is a Trading Party on 20 June in the year of the election may nominate one candidate to stand for election as a BSC Panel Member.

Each voting Trading Party may submit a voting paper for each Energy account that it holds (i.e. a Production account and a Consumption account).

In some cases, Trading Parties may be affiliated with one another, so they will be treated as a Trading Party group by the BSC. Only one Trading Party in a Trading Party group can submit voting papers in the Industry Panel Member elections.

Voting eligibility

Trading Party Groups can vote in BSC Panel elections. More detail can be found in the Guidance Note on Determining Trading Party Groups

The current list of Trading Party Groups can be seen in the Elexon Voting Shares Register

Nomination of candidates

Each Trading Party can nominate one candidate for election as a BSC Panel Industry Member.

Candidate Nomination Forms have been sent out to all Category A and Category ZC Authorised Signatories. You can also download the Candidate Nomination Form using the link below. 

Please email completed nomination forms to [email protected]

The deadline for nominations is 17:00 on 26 July 2024. Nominations received after this date will be invalid.

For more information about nominating candidates, please contact Oli Meggitt, Elections Co-ordinator, at [email protected].

Previous election results


Click on the X next to any of the icons to replace them with a short-cut link to the page you are currently on or search for a specific page.